Wilcannia in New South Wales is a very small town and is located where the Barrier Highway crosses the Darling River. In the early part of 1880 Wilcannia was known as the “Queen City of the West” and was the third largest port in New South Wales.
The township has a large aboriginal community and was the home of the traditional Barkindji people. Barka in the aboriginal term means “river”. In town there are also some mural artworks, which depict the aboriginal heritage.
Today Wilcannia is more of a ghost town than a hot tourist destination. Many people who pass through Wilcannia will do so on their interstate travels from the East coast to the West Coast while experiencing the Nullarbor run.
Wilcannia in the aboriginal term means “Wild Dog” and many who pass through town will notice that some of the places are closed and shut down with the continued growth of nearby Broken Hill. Most services in Wilcannia are centred on the passing traveller for accommodation, food and petrol stops.
Travellers are advised to take a pit stop and look deeper into Wilcannia as it does have some rich history to see. In days of old Wilcannia was the site of major sandstone production and many of the buildings in town are built of sandstone with magnificent architecture. Some of these include the Historic Church, Athenaeum Pioneer Museum and the Post and Telegraph post office built in 1880.
Wilcannia features a Golf Club and Caravan Park that are well catered with comfortable overnight accommodation. The Victory Park Caravan Park also has unique powered sites on the banks of the Darling River with the shade of the River Red Gum trees.
A not to miss place in Wilcannia is the historic lift bridge and wharf which many years ago was an iatrical part of the township.
Wilcannia NSW information & tourist attractions are brought to you by W2A. Holiday here Wilcannia Accommodation